by Tobie Jansen


John Thompson wins Tutuka’s ‘Contractor of the Year’ award

Shad Seeth accepting award certificate by Claude Naicker
Tuku Awards - DSC_4778.jpg

John Thompson's Utility Boiler & Environmental Equipment business unit which has a three-year boiler-serve contract with Tutuka, was selected from among all the contractors engaged on various contracts at the power station.

The picture shows Shad Seeth (left), John Thompson’s Business Development Executive, being presented with the award certificate by Claude Naicker, Tutuka’s Risk and Assurance Manager, at the power station’s annual Achievers Awards function in July.

John Thompson was particularly commended for its high technical performance, quality control and safety record on the contract as its team scored 100% for quality control on the Eskom audit and on the safety side it recorded 482 days without a lost time incident.

The Utility Boiler & Environmental Equipment business unit also received commendation as the best milling team in generation in June and July at Kendal power station, near eMalahleni in Mpumalanga. This is a monthly award in which the best team is selected from all Eskom’s power stations around the country. John Thompson's contract is a three-year milling plant maintenance contract, and for the award performances are measured in terms of unscheduled outages over various pieces of plant.

The John Thompson team scored the lowest Unplanned Capability Loss Factor – meaning the lowest number of forced outages – among all Eskom power station milling plant contractors in June and July.



comments powered by Disqus


This edition

Issue 37


Energy_Magazine Optimising the Transmission System in Mozambique 8 days - reply - retweet - favorite

Energy_Magazine Do we need more nuclear energy going forward? 8 days - reply - retweet - favorite

Energy_Magazine The Big Time Strategic Group BBQ Awards will be hosted at Emperors Palace, on the 20 October 2017. Read more… 9 days - reply - retweet - favorite

  • Bhi Ndawonde
  • Michael Cao
  • Dixit Shah Suraj
  • Thabi Mtshali